Philip Hall

Biography MathSciNet

M.A. University of Cambridge 1926 UnitedKingdom
Dissertation: The Isomorphisms of Abelian Groups (Hall never actually met Burnside but was greatly influenced by Burnside's Writings, see McTutuor, hbc)

Advisor: Karl Pearson

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

J. AnsonUniversity of Cambridge
R. ArmstrongUniversity of Cambridge1959
Garrett BirkhoffUniversity of Cambridge778
Norman BlackburnUniversity of Cambridge195720
Paul CohnUniversity of Cambridge195240
William CoppelUniversity of Cambridge9
A. DuguidUniversity of Cambridge1958
Thomas EasterfieldUniversity of Cambridge1940
Trevor EvansUniversity of Oxford196037
G. FindlayUniversity of Cambridge1958
Alfred Goldie189
James GreenUniversity of Cambridge195174
Karl GruenbergUniversity of Cambridge195435
W. HaleUniversity of Cambridge
D. HarrisUniversity of Cambridge
Brian HartleyUniversity of Cambridge196481
Kurt HirschUniversity of Cambridge1937132
N. HughesUniversity of Cambridge1952
C. KulatilakaUniversity of Cambridge
Arnold LearnerUniversity of Cambridge1961
D. McLainUniversity of Cambridge1956
Bernhard NeumannUniversität Berlin, University of Cambridge1932, 1935274
A. RaeUniversity of Cambridge
David ReesUniversity of Cambridge60
Akbar RhemtullaUniversity of Cambridge6
J. RigbyUniversity of Cambridge1958
Derek RobinsonUniversity of Cambridge196314
James RosebladeUniversity of Cambridge196331
P. StroudUniversity of Cambridge
Derek TauntUniversity of Cambridge76
H. ThurstonUniversity of Cambridge
A. WeirUniversity of Cambridge1954

According to our current on-line database, Philip Hall has 32 students and 1882 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form.