John Mackintosh Howie


D.Phil. University of Oxford 1962 UnitedKingdom
Dissertation: Some Problems on the Theory of Semigroups
Mathematics Subject Classification: 20—Group theory and generalizations

Advisor: Graham Higman

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Robert DawlingsUniversity of St. Andrews1980
Goje GarbaUniversity of St. Andrews1992
Gracinda GomesUniversity of St. Andrews19834
Samuel KopamuUniversity of St. Andrews1996
M. Paula MarquesUniversity of St. Andrews1983
Paula Marques-SmithUniversity of St. Andrews1983
James RenshawUniversity of St. Andrews19853
Maria RibeiroUniversidade dos Açores2000
Nikola RuskucUniversity of St. Andrews199517
B. James SaundersUniversity of St. Andrews1988
Helena SezinandoUniversity of St. Andrews1990
Emilia SoaresUniversidade de Lisboa19841
Abdullahi UmarUniversity of St. Andrews19922

According to our current on-line database, John Howie has 13 students and 40 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 42711 for the advisor ID.