Herbert Ellis Robbins

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. Harvard University 1938 UnitedStates
Dissertation: On the Classification of the Maps of a 2-Complex into a Space

Advisor: Hassler Whitney

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Raghu Raj BahadurThe University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill195057
Cyrus DermanColumbia University1954270
David EdelmanColumbia University19831
Gopinath KallianpurThe University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill195182
Zhaohai Li2
George McCabe, Jr.Columbia University197014
Arthur NadasColumbia University1967
Carlos RodriguezState University of New York at Stony Brook19844
David SiegmundColumbia University1966188
Herbert WilfColumbia University195867

According to our current on-line database, Herbert Robbins has 10 students and 694 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 7781 for the advisor ID.