John Joseph Hopfield

Ph.D. Cornell University 1958 UnitedStates
Dissertation: A Quantum-Mechanical Theory of the Contribution of Excitons to the Complex Dielectric Constant of Crystals

Advisor: Albert Warner Overhauser

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Anderson, BrookeCalifornia Institute of Technology1993
Annau, ThomasCalifornia Institute of Technology1996
Benson, RonaldCalifornia Institute of Technology1994
Downs, OliverPrinceton University2005
Girvin, StevenPrinceton University19775
Halperin, BertrandUniversity of California, Berkeley19659
MacKay, DavidCalifornia Institute of Technology199112
Mjolsness, EricCalifornia Institute of Technology1986
Onuchic, JoséCalifornia Institute of Technology19871
Platt, JohnCalifornia Institute of Technology1989
Roweis, SamCalifornia Institute of Technology19991
Sahani, ManeeshCalifornia Institute of Technology1999
Sejnowski, TerrencePrinceton University197831
Winfree, ErikCalifornia Institute of Technology19981
Wittenberg, GaylePrinceton University2003

According to our current on-line database, John Hopfield has 15 students and 75 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 15862 for the advisor ID.