Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel

Biography MathSciNet

Dr. phil. honoris causa Georg-August-Universität Göttingen 1810 Germany
Mathematics Subject Classification: 85—Astronomy and astrophysics

Advisor: Carl Friedrich Gauß

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Argelander, FriedrichUniversität Königsberg1822142
Luther, EduardUniversität Königsberg18471
Scherk, HeinrichUniversität Berlin182349110
von Steinheil, CarlUniversität Königsberg1825234

According to our current on-line database, Friedrich Bessel has 4 students and 49471 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 18603 for the advisor ID.