James Michael Poterba


D.Phil. University of Oxford 1983 UnitedKingdom
Dissertation: Dividend Taxes and Corporate Financial Policy : An Empirical Investigation
Mathematics Subject Classification: 91—Game theory, economics, social and behavioral sciences

Advisor 1: William Moore Gorman

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Bergantino, StevenMassachusetts Institute of Technology1998
Bitler, MarianneMassachusetts Institute of Technology1998
Boyle, MelissaMassachusetts Institute of Technology2005
Carroll, ChristopherMassachusetts Institute of Technology19903
Cutler, DavidMassachusetts Institute of Technology199117
Dafny, LeemoreMassachusetts Institute of Technology2001
Finkelstein, AmyMassachusetts Institute of Technology200115
Friedberg, LeoraMassachusetts Institute of Technology19962
Goolsbee, AustanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1995
Hogan, VincentMassachusetts Institute of Technology1997
Hoxby, CarolineMassachusetts Institute of Technology19944
Klein, SeanMassachusetts Institute of Technology2010
Leiserson, GregoryMassachusetts Institute of Technology2013
Levitt, StevenMassachusetts Institute of Technology20044
Madrian, BrigitteMassachusetts Institute of Technology19931
McKnight, RobinMassachusetts Institute of Technology2002
O’Malley, MichaelMassachusetts Institute of Technology1994
Powell, DavidMassachusetts Institute of Technology2009
Rao, NirupamaMassachusetts Institute of Technology2010
Rueben, KimMassachusetts Institute of Technology1997
Saez, EmmanuelMassachusetts Institute of Technology199924
Samwick, AndrewMassachusetts Institute of Technology1993
Sinai, ToddMassachusetts Institute of Technology1997
Stantcheva, StefanieMassachusetts Institute of Technology2014
Struyven, DaanMassachusetts Institute of Technology2015
Sufi, AmirMassachusetts Institute of Technology2005
Sun, YangMassachusetts Institute of Technology2015
Swenson, DeborahMassachusetts Institute of Technology19911

According to our current on-line database, James Poterba has 28 students and 94 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 204297 for the advisor ID.