Gordon Thomas Whyburn

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin 1927 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Concerning Continua in the Plane
Mathematics Subject Classification: 54—General topology

Advisor: R. L. (Robert Lee) Moore

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Harry, CharlesThe Johns Hopkins University1932
Aitchison, BeatriceThe Johns Hopkins University1933
Wheeler, III, CharlesThe Johns Hopkins University1933
Schweigert, GeorgeThe Johns Hopkins University19342
Wardwell, JamesThe Johns Hopkins University1935
Puckett, Jr., WilliamUniversity of Virginia19373
Hall, DickUniversity of Virginia19386
Wallace, AlexanderUniversity of Virginia1939285
Kelley, JohnUniversity of Virginia1940121
White, PaulUniversity of Virginia1942
Clark, CharlesUniversity of Virginia19441
Floyd, EdwinUniversity of Virginia1948138
Fort, Jr., MarionUniversity of Virginia194841
Kasriel, RobertUniversity of Virginia19537
Plunkett, RobertUniversity of Virginia19531
Williams, RobertUniversity of Virginia195445
Malbon, WendellUniversity of Virginia1955
Jollensten, RalphUniversity of Virginia1956
McDougle, PaulUniversity of Virginia1958
May, JesseUniversity of Virginia1960
May, WilkesUniversity of Virginia1960
Duda, EdwinUniversity of Virginia196123
Williams, GeorgeUniversity of Virginia1964
Duke, RichardUniversity of Virginia19651
Dickman, RaymondUniversity of Virginia19663
Stone, EugeneUniversity of Virginia1966
García-Máynez y Cervantes, AdalbertoUniversity of Virginia196838
McMillan, EvelynUniversity of Virginia1968
Allen, KeithUniversity of Virginia1970
Perry, JamesUniversity of Virginia1971
Lipscomb, StephenUniversity of Virginia1973

According to our current on-line database, Gordon Whyburn has 31 students and 744 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 293 for the advisor ID.