Richard Peirce Brent


Ph.D. Stanford University 1971 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Algorithms for Finding Zeros and Extrema of Functions without Calculating Derivatives

Advisor 1: Gene Howard Golub
Advisor 2: George Elmer Forsythe

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Abbott, JamesAustralian National University1977
Griewank, AndreasAustralian National University198059
Sachse-Akerlind, DaryelAustralian National University1983
Robertson, PhilipAustralian National University1985
Mackerras, PaulAustralian National University1988
Bing Bing, ZhouAustralian National University1989
Strazdins, PeterAustralian National University1990
Fletcher, PeterAustralian National University1993
Moore, KevinAustralian National University1997
Murphy, BrianAustralian National University1999
Murshed, M.Australian National University1999
Tridgell, AndrewAustralian National University1999
Ma, WanliAustralian National University2001
Abu Salem, FatimaUniversity of Oxford2004
Percival, ColinUniversity of Oxford2006
Lui, YuanUniversity of Oxford2008
Arndt, JörgAustralian National University2010
Bai, ShiAustralian National University20122
Aycock, ChristopherUniversity of Oxford2013
Subramanya Rao, SrinivasaAustralian National University2017
Skerritt, MatthewUniversity of Newcastle2020

According to our current on-line database, Richard Brent has 21 students and 82 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 46405 for the advisor ID.