Israel (Yitzchak) Nathan Herstein

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. Indiana University 1948 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Divisor Algebras

Advisor: Max August Zorn

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Felzenszwab, BernardoThe University of Chicago
Baxter, WillardUniversity of Pennsylvania19562
Martindale, III, WallaceUniversity of Pennsylvania195810
Lissner, DavidCornell University195928
Brown, GordonCornell University19632
Larson, RichardThe University of Chicago19653
Slater, MichaelThe University of Chicago1965
Small, LanceThe University of Chicago196524
Procesi, ClaudioThe University of Chicago196611
Yohe, Jr., CleonThe University of Chicago19662
Schacher, MurrayThe University of Chicago196712
Small, LynneYale University1967
Ehlert, DavidThe University of Chicago1968
Lanski, CharlesThe University of Chicago19692
Montgomery, M. SusanThe University of Chicago196913
Passell, NicholasThe University of Chicago1969
Smith, MarthaThe University of Chicago19703
Farkas, DanielThe University of Chicago19732
Lee, Pjek-HweeThe University of Chicago19748
Cohen, MiriamTel Aviv University19764
Braun, AmiramThe University of Chicago19772
Giambruno, AntonioThe University of Chicago197719
Neumann, LindaWeizmann Institute of Science1979
Berele, AllanThe University of Chicago1981
Bergen, JeffreyThe University of Chicago1981
Lin, Jer-ShyongThe University of Chicago1981
Parshall, KarenThe University of Chicago19825
Krop, LeonidThe University of Chicago1983
Letzter, GailThe University of Chicago19871

According to our current on-line database, Israel (Yitzchak) Herstein has 29 students and 182 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 6526 for the advisor ID.