Manuel Blum


Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1964 UnitedStates
Dissertation: A Machine-Independent Theory of the Complexity of Recursive Functions

Advisor: Marvin Lee Minsky

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Leonard AdlemanUniversity of California, Berkeley19764
Dana AngluinUniversity of California, Berkeley197610
C. Eric BachUniversity of California, Berkeley198422
Jeremiah BlockiCarnegie Mellon University2014
Joan BoyarUniversity of California, Berkeley19838
Tsun ChowUniversity of California, Berkeley1972
Ivan da Costa MarquesUniversity of California, Berkeley1973
William EvansUniversity of California, Berkeley1994
Ion FilottiUniversity of California, Berkeley1972
Peter GemmellUniversity of California, Berkeley1993
John Gill, IIIUniversity of California, Berkeley19725
Shafrira GoldwasserUniversity of California, Berkeley198451
Mor Harchol-BalterUniversity of California, Berkeley19966
Diane HernekUniversity of California, Berkeley1995
Nicholas HopperCarnegie Mellon University20041
Russell ImpagliazzoUniversity of California, Berkeley19924
Andy KangUniversity of California, Berkeley1972
Sampath KannanUniversity of California, Berkeley199011
Howard KatseffUniversity of California, Berkeley1978
Kenneth MandersUniversity of California, Berkeley19782
Brendan Meeder2014
Silvio MicaliUniversity of California, Berkeley1983118
Gary MillerUniversity of California, Berkeley197586
Moni NaorUniversity of California, Berkeley198913
Rene PeraltaUniversity of California, Berkeley1985
Joan PlumsteadUniversity of California, Berkeley1983
Ronitt RubinfeldUniversity of California, Berkeley19907
Steven RudichUniversity of California, Berkeley198911
William SakodaUniversity of California, Berkeley1978
Troy ShahoumianUniversity of California, Berkeley1998
Jeffrey ShallitUniversity of California, Berkeley19835
Michael SipserUniversity of California, Berkeley198071
Elizabeth SweedykUniversity of California, Berkeley1995
Umesh VaziraniUniversity of California, Berkeley198662
Vijay VaziraniUniversity of California, Berkeley198432
Luis von AhnCarnegie Mellon University20051
Hal WassermanUniversity of California, Berkeley1997
R. Ryan WilliamsCarnegie Mellon University2007

According to our current on-line database, Manuel Blum has 38 students and 557 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 13373 for the advisor ID.