Francis Patton Bretherton


Ph.D. University of Cambridge 1961 UnitedKingdom
Dissertation: The Motion of an Incompressible Liquid at Low Reynolds Number
Mathematics Subject Classification: 76—Fluid mechanics

Advisor 1: Geoffrey Ingram Taylor
Advisor 2: Philip G. Saffman

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Garrett, ChristopherUniversity of Cambridge19683
Herron, Jr., IsomThe Johns Hopkins University19738
Hoskins, BrianUniversity of Cambridge19701
McIntyre, MichaelUniversity of Cambridge19677
Rhines, PeterUniversity of Cambridge196721
Smith, RonaldThe Johns Hopkins University19743

According to our current on-line database, Francis Bretherton has 6 students and 49 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 101678 for the advisor ID.