Lyman Spitzer, Jr.

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. Princeton University 1938 UnitedStates
Dissertation: The Spectra of Late Supergiant Stars
Mathematics Subject Classification: 85—Astronomy and astrophysics

Advisor: Henry Norris Russell

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Savedoff, MalcolmPrinceton University19511
Field, GeorgePrinceton University195528
Searle, Leonard ThomasPrinceton University195619
Montgomery, DavidPrinceton University195926
Gaustad, JohnPrinceton University1962
Sanders, RobertPrinceton University19706
Gott, JohnPrinceton University19731
Elmegreen, BrucePrinceton University1975
Shull, MichaelPrinceton University1976
Cohn, HaldanPrinceton University1979

According to our current on-line database, Lyman Spitzer, Jr. has 10 students and 91 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 114633 for the advisor ID.