Herman Chernoff

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. Brown University 1948 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Studentization in Testing of Hypotheses
Mathematics Subject Classification: 62—Statistics

Advisor: Abraham Wald

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Abraham, JohnStanford University1969
Albert, ArthurStanford University19605
Arsenis, SpyrosMassachusetts Institute of Technology1985
Bessler, StuartStanford University1960
Blackwell, ThomasHarvard University1993
Braun, HenryStanford University1974
Commins, Jr., WilliamStanford University1959
Feder, PaulStanford University1968
Geman, StuartMassachusetts Institute of Technology197737
Gillick, LaurenceMassachusetts Institute of Technology1980
Gimon, Jean-PaulStanford University1967
Goodman, ArnoldStanford University1962
Hesse, ChristianHarvard University19874
Hinich, MelvinStanford University196424
Kadane, JosephStanford University1966138
Keener, RobertMassachusetts Institute of Technology197918
Lane, ThomasMassachusetts Institute of Technology1985
Mallik, AshimStanford University1972
Manuel, GuyMassachusetts Institute of Technology1986
Masujima, MichioMassachusetts Institute of Technology1983
Matsubara, NozomuStanford University1973
Park, ChangMassachusetts Institute of Technology1987
Petkau, AlbertStanford University19751
Rustagi, JagdishStanford University195638
Vangel, MarkHarvard University1992
Yao, Yi-ChingMassachusetts Institute of Technology1982

According to our current on-line database, Herman Chernoff has 26 students and 291 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 14275 for the advisor ID.