Herman Chernoff

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. Brown University 1948 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Studentization in Testing of Hypotheses
Mathematics Subject Classification: 62—Statistics

Advisor: Abraham Wald

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Rustagi, JagdishStanford University195638
Commins, Jr., WilliamStanford University1959
Albert, ArthurStanford University19605
Bessler, StuartStanford University1960
Goodman, ArnoldStanford University1962
Hinich, MelvinStanford University196424
Kadane, JosephStanford University1966137
Gimon, Jean-PaulStanford University1967
Feder, PaulStanford University1968
Abraham, JohnStanford University1969
Mallik, AshimStanford University1972
Matsubara, NozomuStanford University1973
Braun, HenryStanford University1974
Petkau, AlbertStanford University19751
Geman, StuartMassachusetts Institute of Technology197737
Keener, RobertMassachusetts Institute of Technology197918
Gillick, LaurenceMassachusetts Institute of Technology1980
Yao, Yi-ChingMassachusetts Institute of Technology1982
Masujima, MichioMassachusetts Institute of Technology1983
Arsenis, SpyrosMassachusetts Institute of Technology1985
Lane, ThomasMassachusetts Institute of Technology1985
Manuel, GuyMassachusetts Institute of Technology1986
Hesse, ChristianHarvard University19874
Park, ChangMassachusetts Institute of Technology1987
Vangel, MarkHarvard University1992
Blackwell, ThomasHarvard University1993

According to our current on-line database, Herman Chernoff has 26 students and 290 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 14275 for the advisor ID.