Paul Richard Halmos

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 1938 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Invariants of Certain Stochastic Transformations: The Mathematical Theory of Gambling Systems
Mathematics Subject Classification: 60—Probability theory and stochastic processes

Advisor: Joseph Leo Doob

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Barria, SanchezIndiana University1974
Bastian, JosephIndiana University1973
Bishop, ErrettThe University of Chicago195510
Bram, JosephThe University of Chicago1953
Brown, H. ArlenThe University of Chicago1952120
Coburn, LewisUniversity of Michigan196413
Galler, BernardThe University of Chicago195581
Hadwin, DonaldIndiana University197523
Kelley, RobertUniversity of Michigan19661
LeBlanc, LéonThe University of Chicago1960
Linderholm, CarlThe University of Chicago1963
Moore, RobertIndiana University19742
Nordgren, EricUniversity of Michigan196436
Orloff, DanielThe University of Chicago1951
Parrott, StephenUniversity of Michigan1965
Rogers, DonaldIndiana University1975
Rosenthal, PeterUniversity of Michigan196722
Rubin, HermanThe University of Chicago1948432
Sarason, DonaldUniversity of Michigan1963320
Schreiber, MorrisThe University of Chicago19553
Smucker, RusselIndiana University1973
Sunder, ViakalathurIndiana University197711

According to our current on-line database, Paul Halmos has 22 students and 1096 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 4207 for the advisor ID.