Paul Richard Halmos

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 1938 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Invariants of Certain Stochastic Transformations: The Mathematical Theory of Gambling Systems
Mathematics Subject Classification: 60—Probability theory and stochastic processes

Advisor: Joseph Leo Doob

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Rubin, HermanThe University of Chicago1948370
Orloff, DanielThe University of Chicago1951
Brown, H. ArlenThe University of Chicago1952115
Bram, JosephThe University of Chicago1953
Bishop, ErrettThe University of Chicago195510
Galler, BernardThe University of Chicago195579
Schreiber, MorrisThe University of Chicago19553
LeBlanc, LéonThe University of Chicago1960
Linderholm, CarlThe University of Chicago1963
Sarason, DonaldUniversity of Michigan1963292
Coburn, LewisUniversity of Michigan196412
Nordgren, EricUniversity of Michigan196436
Parrott, StephenUniversity of Michigan1965
Kelley, RobertUniversity of Michigan19661
Rosenthal, PeterUniversity of Michigan196722
Bastian, JosephIndiana University1973
Smucker, RusselIndiana University1973
Barria, SanchezIndiana University1974
Moore, RobertIndiana University19742
Hadwin, DonaldIndiana University197523
Rogers, DonaldIndiana University1975
Sunder, ViakalathurIndiana University197710

According to our current on-line database, Paul Halmos has 22 students and 997 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 4207 for the advisor ID.